Making a Choice

There are many Disease Modification Medication options out there for MSer’s to choose from.  Everyone of them has been through years of trials and FDA approved to slow the progression of MS.  Evertime someone comes to me with an alternative medication that ‘promises’ to stop or reverse the disability of MS, this is what I think:

(from Life at Cripple Creek)
But to make a choice about that you need to understand probability theory.

People who are desperate for wellness flock to the newest treatment that promises relief. The MS Diet, T. Wahl MD’s diet and exercise program, CCSVI, statins, and many other offerings are out there. Do they work? Do they arrest or even reverse damage from MS?

I tell myself that the day something comes along that really, truly works to significantly stop or reverse MS it will not be a secret you have to dredge up on the internet or fight with your neurologist to obtain. If it is truly significant people will not be arguing “yay” or “nay” about it. People will not have to convince their colleagues to try it on patients. No one will try to suppress it. If a really helpful therapy is found, one that improves MS symptoms and/or progression in, for example, more than 40% of the people who use it, there will be banner headlines.

And until then we will have to continue to educate ourselves so that we can be aware of helpful options and avoid useless options while experimenting on ourselves in search of the best way for each of us to live with MS.

I couldn’t have said it better myself.  I’ve always thought that if something “outside of the box” was working, everyone would be on it. 

This is just my opinion, what’s yours?

About vjwebb59

I'm learning to live My Life with Love, Grace, and Hope.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment